12 Aug, 2018

Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian

The leaders of the “Caspian Five” at the meeting in Aktau on August 12 signed the Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian Sea, work on which was conducted since 1996

According to the document, the bottom and bowels of the Caspian Sea will be divided into sectors, and the water areas – into internal and territorial waters, fishing zones and the general water area. The agreement will also determine the airspace borders over the Caspian. In addition, the presence of armed forces, which do not belong to any of the five countries listed above, will be prohibited.

“We conducted very complicated negotiations … to solve all the issues of our common work in the Caspian Sea. This is shipping, resources, conservation of biological resources and trade cooperation of our states. A very important moment for all of us, “President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev underlined.

Basic provisions of the Convention

According to the convention, the main area of ​​the water surface of the Caspian Sea remains in the common use of the parties, and the bottom and subsoil are divided by neighboring states into plots by agreement between them on the basis of international law.

The Convention fixes a provision on the prevention of the presence in the Caspian of the armed forces of extra-regional powers. According to it, the five Caspian states are responsible for maintaining maritime security and managing its resources.

The document notes that navigation, fishing, scientific research and laying of main pipelines should be carried out according to the rules agreed upon by the parties.

In addition, the environmental factor should be taken into account in the implementation of large-scale offshore projects, and all parties are responsible for damage to the ecological system of the Caspian Sea.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply