11 Apr, 2021

International Labor Organization established

On April 11, 1919, the International Labor Organization (ILO) was created under the League of Nations to promote the principles of social justice, internationally recognized human rights and rights at work.

It was the first intergovernmental organization-commission to develop conventions and recommendations on labor legislation, promoting social and economic progress, improving the welfare and working conditions of people, and protecting human rights. The first conference took place in Washington in 1919. Frenchman Albert Thomas was elected the first Director General of the ILO. In total, 45 states were represented in it.

In 1946, the ILO became the first specialized agency of the United Nations.

The ILO develops and adopts international labor standards, prepares international programs to improve the working and living conditions of workers; contributes to the prevention of unemployment, the protection of workers from accidents at work, the protection of the labor of children, adolescents and women, the provision of older workers and the disabled; provides consulting services; conducts research and analysis of socio-economic problems in the world of work; organizes meetings, technical and vocational education, cooperation; disseminates information.

The ILO is one of the oldest and largest international organizations dealing with the regulation of labor relations. Today, 187 states, including Russia, are members of the ILO. The headquarters and executive bodies of the ILO are located in Geneva (Switzerland). The International Labor Conference is also held here. Guy Ryder has been the ILO’s Director-General since 2012.

The Technical Support Team on Decent Work and the ILO Office for Eastern Europe and Central Asia (until April 2010 – the ILO Subregional Office for Eastern Europe and Central Asia) has been operating in Moscow since 1959. The Bureau coordinates the activities of the ILO in ten states – the Russian Federation, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.